Carnies

Color Wheel

After taking this we went around where the booths and games were. One of the girls in the booth asked me (in the blunt, outspoken way a carnival booth operator would) to take a picture of her and her love interest (another booth operator). I enjoy talking to carnival folk as they are quite unique and obliged. I offered to email them the photo but neither of them had an email address!

I realized while leaving that carnival technology has remained essentially the same for the past 40 years. Booths, tents and monstrous machines moving humans in circles. Someone could have begun their career 30 years ago and stayed on the road the entire time, oblivious to modern living conveniences.

The picture of the two didn’t turn out very good because I didn’t have the right lens on and it was quite dark, but I think the picture you have in your mind is better than anything I could have taken anyways.

From my Flickr Photostream

signature1

Leave a comment

Filed under Photography

Leave a Reply

