Bacon Flavored Lollipop

What is the first thing that you think of when you hear those words?

“Those words don’t belong together.”

“My tastebuds hurt.”

The first thing that went through my mind was “I want to eat one with my mouth.” I’m a doer not a wisher so I went ahead and got one. No, I didn’t walk into my local odd-flavored lollipop store, no I ordered it on the Internet. My computer told their server that I desired to try one of their breakfast-themed confectionary masterpieces, and they obliged.

11

I received my pig flavored sucker a few days later, and promptly dove in. Before I submit my review, here is some more info about the candy itself.

12

They are manufactured by a company called Das Foods, a company who brazenly makes all sorts of gourmet lollipops. In addition to my pork flavored one, I also got ginger & lemon, salty caramel, and orange & pomegranate (Orange? Gross!).

13

As you can see, there are little spots in the sucker. I know what you are thinking… Don’t worry those spots are not peanuts, they are actual meat chunks. Close call there. As I tasted it something strange happened…

I kind of liked it.

I know you all think that I am crazy, but the reality is, that bacon tastes good, and when applied to another type of food, it kind of works. The thing I didn’t expect is that it is actually Maple Bacon flavored, giving it a sugary zing that wisks you away to Vermont. Honestly, it tasted like camping (in a good way). I don’t know how else to describe it. It tasted a little smoky, a little salty, sweet and that is pretty much it. It did taste like bacon, but not gross. It also did not taste like swine flu, so that is good I suppose.

I am no stranger to trying new candy. Whenever I see a new package in the checkout at the grocery I always try it because it could be my favorite candy, and I just don’t know it yet. I believe this is a good policy. It has done me well in the past, though my dentist might not agree.

I feel that my $6 was well spent. I got 8 suckers, and have 8 more on the way for free! If any of you would like to try the hoggish candy, I will be breaking up the remaining one the next movie night.

Signature

Leave a comment

Filed under Products, Review

Leave a Reply

