I am a Hypocrite

I would like to take this time to say that I am going to eat my words. A couple of months ago, I wrote a post entitled “Why I hate PCs” or something like that. Well to say that I have grown tired of that debate is an understatement. They all have their good points. After using all of them, I have come to the conclusion that I enjoy using OSX as my primary OS. However, on my HP Mini 1000 I am running windows, and enjoy using it as well. There are things that I don’t like about it, but there are things I don’t like about OSX as well.

The reason that I wrote that post is that I was extremely frustrated with my little Eee PC which lacked the processor and storage to run Windows adequately. I read an article that pointed out that we have a good set of options. Windows is closed software on open hardware. Macs have closed software on closed hardware (virtualization doesn’t count), and Linux is open software on open hardware. We have all the options, and you can pick the one that works for you.

Although I don’t disagree with a lively discussion about the merits of each, and the neat things you can do with each, it upsets me when I see any blind rage towards any of them (usually on a tech blog). I realize that we are just talking about computer operating systems, but the universal issue of blind discrimination is applicable to much larger issues.

As I am writing this, I am on my little HP Mini 1000, and loving it. I am using Firefox with a bunch of add-ons (yes I ditched Chrome, thereby completing my Firefox experiment) and enjoying it. However, I have yet to find a music management program that I like better than iTunes, and wish that I had iCal on here, but it is definately great.

1 Comment

Filed under Geek Stuff, Opinion, Tech

One response to “I am a Hypocrite

  1. Chad Waite

    I am glad you can be honest with yourself. Here is a completely random but awesome video to celebrate- http://vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1778399&server=vimeo.com&sho

Leave a Reply

